Ingredients: B vitamins
B6, B12, Folate and Pantothenic Acid in Gelagen: Amounts and Cautions
Gelagen lists vitamin B6 at 2 mg (about 118% of the Daily Value if per two gummies), vitamin B12 as methylcobalamin at 6 mcg (250%), folate at 442 mcg DFE (110.5%) and pantothenic acid at 5.2 mg (104%). All are well below upper limits where one exists. B vitamins help the body use food for energy and make blood cells.
Written by the Gelagen label deskUpdated
The numbers01
How much of each B vitamin is in Gelagen?
Each of the four sits at or just above one Daily Value, and vitamin B12 is the highest at about two and a half times.
The tables below hold the product sheet next to NIH's fact sheets. Under reading B every figure would double, and the upper limits would still not be near for B6 or folate.
| Name in the product sheet | Vitamin B6 (as pyridoxine HCl) |
|---|---|
| Form | pyridoxine HCl |
| Amount | 2 mg |
| FDA Daily Value | 1.7 mg |
| %DV if per 2 gummies | 117.6% |
| %DV if per gummy (2 gummies) | 235.3% |
| Adult upper limit | 100 mg a day (adults) |
| What the sources say | NIH ODS: very high long-term intakes (1-6 g a day) caused nerve damage; 2 mg is far below that |
| Sold for | Sold for energy and general health |
| Main caution | At 2 mg, no problem is expected; the upper limit is 100 mg a day (NIH ODS). |
| Name in the product sheet | Folate |
|---|---|
| Form | form not stated |
| Amount | 442 mcg DFE |
| FDA Daily Value | 400 mcg DFE |
| %DV if per 2 gummies | 110.5% |
| %DV if per gummy (2 gummies) | 221.0% |
| Adult upper limit | 1,000 mcg a day of folic acid from supplements and fortified foods |
| What the sources say | NIH ODS: DFE adjusts for folic acid being absorbed better than food folate; large amounts can hide a vitamin B12 deficiency |
| Sold for | Sold for general health |
| Main caution | The product sheet does not say whether the folate is folic acid or another form. Anyone with a B12 problem should ask first. |
| Name in the product sheet | Vitamin B12 (as methylcobalamin) |
|---|---|
| Form | methylcobalamin |
| Amount | 6 mcg |
| FDA Daily Value | 2.4 mcg |
| %DV if per 2 gummies | 250.0% |
| %DV if per gummy (2 gummies) | 500.0% |
| Adult upper limit | No upper limit set (NIH ODS) |
| What the sources say | NIH ODS: no evidence that absorption differs by form; absorption drops as the dose rises |
| Sold for | Sold for energy and general health |
| Main caution | No upper limit has been set because of low toxicity (NIH ODS). |
| Name in the product sheet | Pantothenic acid |
|---|---|
| Form | form not stated |
| Amount | 5.2 mg |
| FDA Daily Value | 5 mg |
| %DV if per 2 gummies | 104.0% |
| %DV if per gummy (2 gummies) | 208.0% |
| Adult upper limit | No upper limit set (NIH ODS) |
| What the sources say | NIH ODS does not link pantothenic acid to hair or skin |
| Sold for | Sold for skin and general health |
| Main caution | No toxicity reported at high intakes; very large doses (10 g) caused diarrhea (NIH ODS). |
What they do02
What do B vitamins do for the body?
They help the body turn food into energy and build the cells and chemicals it needs, and none of them is a skin treatment.
Vitamin B6 helps the body use protein and make red blood cells and nerve messengers (NIH ODS, Vitamin B6). Vitamin B12 is needed for nerves and red blood cells (NIH ODS, Vitamin B12). Folate is needed to make DNA and for normal cell growth (NIH ODS, Folate). Pantothenic acid is used to make coenzyme A, which the body uses in energy chemistry (NIH ODS, Pantothenic Acid). These are real jobs, but they are not signs that a gummy can change your skin. A person with a true shortage of one of them may see a change. A person with a normal supply will not.
B12 and folate03
Can folate hide a vitamin B12 problem?
Yes: NIH says high folate intake can correct the anemia of B12 deficiency without fixing the nerve damage, which is why the two are always read together (NIH ODS, Folate).
Gelagen holds both, at 442 mcg DFE of folate and 6 mcg of B12. Together they sit in a reasonable balance for most adults. The caution is for anyone who has, or may have, a B12 problem, such as an older adult, a strict vegan or someone on certain stomach medicines. A blood count that looks normal because of folate could delay a diagnosis. If you have tingling, numbness or memory trouble, see a clinician instead of reaching for a supplement.
| Vitamin | Daily Value | Upper limit | Care point |
|---|---|---|---|
| B6 | 1.7 mg | 100 mg | Nerve damage at very high long-term intakes |
| B12 | 2.4 mcg | None set | Pair with folate |
| Folate | 400 mcg DFE | 1,000 mcg folic acid | Can mask B12 deficiency |
| Pantothenic acid | 5 mg | None set | About 10 g a day caused diarrhea |

Gelagen Gummies: from $49 a jar60 gummies a jar · 2, 3 or 6 jars · 60-day guarantee as listed
See packsBefore you start04
Is the folate in Gelagen enough for pregnancy?
Do not use Gelagen as a prenatal vitamin: it is not described as one, and pregnancy has specific needs a clinician should set.
442 mcg DFE is a bit above the 400 mcg Daily Value, but a pregnant woman is usually advised an amount set for her stage of pregnancy, together with other nutrients. Anyone planning a pregnancy should talk to a clinician about the right product, and should not rely on a skin gummy. The same message applies to nursing.
Never stop or change a prescribed medicine or prenatal vitamin because of a supplement. Swelling of the face or throat or trouble breathing after a gummy needs 911.
See who it is for and the side effects page for the wider checklist.
FAQ05
Gelagen questions people ask
Is 2 mg of vitamin B6 too much?
No. It is about 118% of the 1.7 mg Daily Value and 2% of the 100 mg adult upper limit. NIH links nerve damage to very high long-term intakes, which is a different range from Gelagen's listed amount (NIH ODS, Vitamin B6).
What is methylcobalamin?
It is one form of vitamin B12. The other common supplement form is cyanocobalamin. NIH says B12 has no upper limit because of low toxicity, and Gelagen's 6 mcg is 250% of the Daily Value (NIH ODS, Vitamin B12).
What does mcg DFE mean?
DFE stands for dietary folate equivalents. Folic acid from supplements counts as 1.7 times the same weight of food folate, so the unit lets labels compare forms. The Daily Value is 400 mcg DFE for adults (NIH ODS, Folate).
Does pantothenic acid help with acne?
Our sources make no acne claim for pantothenic acid, so we make none. It is vitamin B5, needed for energy chemistry. If acne is your concern, a dermatologist can discuss treatments that have evidence.
Do B vitamins give you energy?
B vitamins help the body release energy from food, but taking extra does not make a person with normal levels feel more energetic. We make no energy claim for Gelagen. Persistent tiredness deserves a medical check.
Can B vitamins turn urine bright yellow?
Yes, riboflavin, vitamin B2, is well known for that, and large amounts of some B vitamins can too. Gelagen does not list riboflavin, so the effect would be unexpected from this list. A harmless color change does not need a test.
Who wrote this06
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the brand's product sheet, the jar renders and linked NIH, FDA, CDC, FTC and dermatology-society sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is the information site for a USA Authorized Gelagen Retailer. It is not the manufacturer or the distributor. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Sources and links (4)
- Vitamin B6: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2026
- Folate: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2026
- Vitamin B12: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2026
- Pantothenic Acid: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2026
Keep reading
More about Gelagen
USA Authorized Gelagen Retailer
Ready to try Gelagen?
Check your medicines first, especially blood thinners and thyroid medicine, and tell the lab about the biotin before any blood test. Then pick a pack. Six jars cost the least per jar; every pack carries the 60-day guarantee as listed (confirm at checkout).
- Checkout on the sales site
- 60-day guarantee as listed
- Shipping shown at checkout



