Ingredients: choline and inositol
Choline and Inositol in Gelagen: Two Trace Ingredients
Gelagen lists choline at 0.04 mg and inositol at 40 mcg. Both are traces. Choline's Daily Value is 550 mg, so 0.04 mg is about 0.007%, and inositol has no Daily Value at all. They are on the list by name, but at these amounts they are very unlikely to matter. Check the jar, because the choline figure looks unusually small.
Written by the Gelagen label deskUpdated
The numbers01
How much choline and inositol is in Gelagen?
Choline is 0.04 mg and inositol is 40 mcg, and the two together weigh under a tenth of a milligram.
Both appear in the product sheet's list of 13 names. Under reading B the amounts would double, which changes nothing about their size.
| Name in the product sheet | Choline |
|---|---|
| Form | form not stated |
| Amount | 0.04 mg |
| FDA Daily Value | 550 mg |
| %DV if per 2 gummies | less than 0.01% |
| %DV if per gummy (2 gummies) | 0.0% |
| Adult upper limit | 3,500 mg a day (adults) |
| What the sources say | NIH ODS sets the adult Adequate Intake at 425 mg (women) and 550 mg (men); 0.04 mg is about 1/10,600 of the women's figure |
| Sold for | Listed on the product sheet |
| Main caution | At 0.04 mg there is nothing to worry about, and nothing to count either. |
| Name in the product sheet | Inositol |
|---|---|
| Form | form not stated |
| Amount | 40 mcg |
| FDA Daily Value | none set |
| %DV if per 2 gummies | no DV |
| %DV if per gummy (2 gummies) | no DV |
| Adult upper limit | No upper limit found in our sources |
| What the sources say | Cleveland Clinic: studied for other conditions; the typical American diet holds about 1 gram a day; 40 mcg is 1/25,000 of that |
| Sold for | Listed on the product sheet |
| Main caution | Healthcare providers generally consider low doses safe for up to 10 weeks (Cleveland Clinic). 40 mcg is a trace. |
Choline02
Is 0.04 mg of choline meaningful?
No: 0.04 mg is about 0.007% of the 550 mg Daily Value, roughly one fourteen-thousandth of what an adult needs in a day (NIH ODS, Choline).
Choline is a nutrient the body needs for cell membranes and nerves. NIH gives an Adequate Intake of 425 mg for women and 550 mg for men, and an upper limit of 3,500 mg. Food supplies most of it; eggs, meat and some vegetables are typical sources. At 0.04 mg, a Gelagen gummy cannot be treated as a choline source in any sense a nutritionist would use.
The figure is so small that it may be a typing slip, such as 40 mg written as 0.04 mg, or a trace added so the name can appear. We cannot tell from the product sheet. If your jar prints a different amount, the jar is right. If it prints 0.04 mg, the honest reading is "a trace".
Inositol03
What is inositol, and is it a vitamin?
Inositol is a sugar the body makes, often called vitamin B8, but it is not a true vitamin, and Gelagen's 40 mcg is a tiny amount (Cleveland Clinic, Inositol).
Cleveland Clinic says a typical diet supplies about 1 gram a day, which is 25,000 times Gelagen's amount. Inositol has been studied for other conditions at much larger doses, and healthcare providers generally consider low doses safe for up to 10 weeks. There is no Daily Value, so we cannot compute a percentage. We found no source linking 40 mcg of inositol to skin, hair or nails.
| Item | Gelagen | Reference | Ratio |
|---|---|---|---|
| Choline | 0.04 mg | 550 mg Daily Value | about 1 in 13,750 |
| Inositol | 40 mcg | about 1 g in a typical day's diet | 1 in 25,000 |

Gelagen Gummies: from $49 a jar60 gummies a jar · 2, 3 or 6 jars · 60-day guarantee as listed
See packsChecking the jar04
How do you check these two amounts on your own jar?
Turn the jar to the Supplement Facts panel, find the lines for choline and inositol, and compare the amount and unit with the product sheet figures.
Look at the unit as well as the number, because mg and mcg differ by a factor of 1,000. If choline reads 0.04 mg, treat it as a trace. If it reads something larger, update your own expectations and let us know through the website email so the page can change. Look also for the serving size at the top of the panel. If it says "2 gummies", reading A applies. If it says "1 gummy", reading B does.
Those two lines take ten seconds and settle two of the open questions on this site.
Why list them05
Why would a supplement list ingredients in trace amounts?
Because a longer ingredient list looks stronger on a jar, and a name can be added at almost no cost.
Trace amounts can be added for show. That is not always dishonest, since some makers add small amounts for a reason. But a reader should ask whether the amount matches the claim. The FTC says research on an ingredient does not support a product unless dose and form match what was studied (FTC, Health Products Compliance Guidance). A trace amount cannot borrow the research done on a full dose.
We list these two because the product sheet does, and we put them on the same table as the other eleven. Seeing them beside the biotin figure is the quickest way to judge the whole list. The gummy label guide shows how to spot this on any jar.
Do not stop or change a prescription because you take a supplement. Call 911 for swelling of the face or throat or trouble breathing after taking a gummy.
FAQ06
Gelagen questions people ask
What is choline used for?
Choline is a nutrient the body uses to build cell membranes and for nerve signals. Most adults get it from food. The Adequate Intake is 425 mg for women and 550 mg for men (NIH ODS, Choline), far more than Gelagen's 0.04 mg.
Is Gelagen a good source of choline?
No. At 0.04 mg it is roughly 0.007% of a Daily Value. If choline matters for your diet, such as in pregnancy, ask a clinician or dietitian about food sources and a product that holds a meaningful amount.
What is vitamin B8?
It is another name for inositol, though inositol is a sugar the body makes and not a true vitamin. Cleveland Clinic notes that it is sometimes sold as vitamin B8 for that reason (Cleveland Clinic, Inositol).
Does inositol help skin or hair?
We found no source in our set that links 40 mcg of inositol to skin or hair, and the Gelagen product sheet gives no study. Inositol has been studied in other conditions at much larger doses, which cannot be applied to this amount.
Why does Gelagen have no Daily Value for inositol?
Because FDA has not set one. A Daily Value exists only for nutrients with an established reference amount, and inositol is not an essential vitamin. So there is no percent to print, and we do not invent one.
Could the 0.04 mg choline be a typing error?
It could. We cannot see the printed label. If your jar shows a different figure, such as 40 mg, tell us at the website email and we will update the pages. The honest wording today is that the product sheet says 0.04 mg.
Who wrote this07
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the brand's product sheet, the jar renders and linked NIH, FDA, CDC, FTC and dermatology-society sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is the information site for a USA Authorized Gelagen Retailer. It is not the manufacturer or the distributor. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Sources and links (3)
- Choline: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2026
- Inositol Cleveland Clinic, 2023
- Health Products Compliance Guidance Federal Trade Commission, 2022
Keep reading
More about Gelagen
USA Authorized Gelagen Retailer
Ready to try Gelagen?
Check your medicines first, especially blood thinners and thyroid medicine, and tell the lab about the biotin before any blood test. Then pick a pack. Six jars cost the least per jar; every pack carries the 60-day guarantee as listed (confirm at checkout).
- Checkout on the sales site
- 60-day guarantee as listed
- Shipping shown at checkout


